Skip to main content

Elementary Reading Resources: Home

Elementary Reads

undefined undefined undefined undefined undefined undefined
undefined undefined undefined undefined undefined

Free Online Reading Resources during CoVid-19

MackinVia provides easy access to more than 10,000 eBooks and 12 educational databases. Use the filters to find age-appropriate reading resources.
School: Dalian American International School
Username: DAIS
Password: daischina

Big Universe (PreK-12) is offering more than 17,000 eBooks to those affected by Convid-19. Books cover a wide variety of topics. Subscription ends: August 22, 2020
Username: Dalian
Password:
daischina
​Group Username: DAIS

TumbleMath (K-6) has a collection of math stories which combines animation, narration and sound. 
Username: tumble2020
Password: A3b5c6

BookFlix (K-3) is a curated database that pairs fiction and non-fiction books.
Username: Learning20
Password: Clifford

TrueFlix (3-5) helps children strengthen literacy skills, build science and social studies knowledge, and cultivate 21st-century skills. Watch, read, and learn about people, science, and history.
Username: Learning20
Password: Clifford

Scholastic's Watch and Learn (PreK-3) is a video library for young learners.
Username: Learning20
Password: Clifford

ScienceFlix (4-9) offers teachers and parents hands-on projects, activities, videos, and more to help kids learn about science.
Username: Learning20
Password: Clifford

​Capstone is offering free access to thousands of Capstone Interactive eBooks supported with audio recordings for a limited time. 
Username: continue
Password
: reading

Crabtree Publishing (PreK-9+) is temporarily offering its entire library of eBooks for free. Students will have access to more than 2,000 fiction and nonfiction books. 
Username: read
Password: free

Abdo Kids Online is designed for your youngest readers, PreK-2. Beginning readers can have fun learning online through free, age-appropriate, and monitored content. Each Abdo Kids title has a unique alpha-numeric code printed in the back of every book that unlocks a special webpage filled with resources.

Audible (PreK-12) has allowed access to an incredible selection of stories including titles across six different languages. Simply visit the site to get started. No log-ins or passwords needed.

​Lightbox, digital content that supports eLearning, for free. This site includes interactive eBooks for all levels on many different subjects. We have a free subscription until August 2020. 
Username: guest
Password: follett

Kids Discover has more than 2,000 science and social studies articles and videos at various reading levels.
Username: daischina
Password:  daischina

National Geographic Resource Library has numerous topics with activities, articles, maps, infographics, and videos for grades K-12.  No account needed to use the library but to bookmark resources you must have an account, no charge.

TeenBookCloud is an online library of ebooks, graphic novels, and audiobooks at all levels, available for trial until August 31.
Username: mackintumbles
​Password: trial

ReadingIQ is a complete digital library that your child can access at any time with thousands of books for ages 2-12. Available until September 7.

Access Code: SCHOOL8866

Free Access to Time for Kids digital library. You can access magazines in Chinese.

Britannica is offering free access to more than 200 eBooks.
Username: freebritannica
Password:
ebooks

Podcasts

Podcasts are available on both iOS and Android, and you subscribe to them on your device. Podcasts are an engaging way to listen to both fiction and nonfiction in short periods of time. They're usually broken into shorter episodes. There are so many popular podcasts for kids.

Common Sense Media has a list of the 25 best Podcasts for children.

Kids Listen has a great list for kids.

This site includes the best podcasts for kids that adults will like, too.

Fun Websites

Magazines

ALWAYS AVAILABLE READING

Story Time from Space is a project of the Global Space Education Foundation. While in space, astronauts are videotaping themselves reading these books to the children of Earth.

Storyline Online provides audio and video stories by celebrated actors reading aloud for kids.

Storynory has audio streaming of more than 600 stories. The stories showcase imagination, good writing, and great narrations. 

Open Library offers access to more than 20,000 free titles for children (both classic and current) and is continually updating its collection of links to free books online.

Kid Zone offers access to ebooks, audiobooks, and streaming videos of stories read aloud. You can also find games that focus on different literacy skills.

Kids Read 2 Kids provides free audio books read by kids for kids. The books are filmed by chapter for easy listening. A vpn is needed if you're in China.

"We believe that minds can grow by reading them a tale. You shouldn't have to sit and wait for them to go on sale.  Readers are an honor. Worth the effort. Worth the time. This site is made for you, with every word and every rhyme."

Comics Uniting Nations was created to educate people all over the world about the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals.

HelloKids has a large collection of stories, poems, biographies, and fun activities for children.

This is a growing online library of free books. It is organized into three sections -- Toddlers, Children, and Older Children/Young Adult.

LibriVox is a collection of free public domain audiobooks read by volunteers from all over the world.

LovingToRead has thousands of digital books that focuses on science, STEM, math, and other skills. Books are specifically written for different grade levels. 

MagicBlox  has a large and growing collection of eBooks from award winning authors and publishers from around the world. Most appropriate for ages 1-13. 

The Professor Garfield Foundation offers a variety of graphic novel eBooks. 

Digital Public Library of America offers thousands of free eBooks for children.

Project Gutenberg is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks. The majority of books are classic literature and are available in various formats.

Lit2Go is a free online collection of poems and stories in audiobook format. Each reading passages can also be downloaded as a PDF for use as a read-along.

International Children's Digital Library has a collection of almost 5,000 books in more than 60 languages. The library aspires to represent as many cultures and languages as possible.

Storyweaver is a digital library of thousands of richly illustrated, open-licensed children stories in mother tongue languages.

Unite for Literacy online library provides free access to more than 400 original picture books. The digital books provide audio narration in more than 40 languages.

World Stories has a growing collection of bilingual folktales from around the world. You can read stories in MandarinEnglish, and many other languages.

The Ickabog

undefined

J.K. Rowling is publishing a new story called The Ickabog, which will be free to read online to help entertain children and families stuck at home during the coronavirus pandemic.